When Did Lightsum Debut?

Cube Entertainment is one of the mid-sized companies in K-pop, and sometimes it punches above its weight class. Case in point, girl groups like 4Minute and (G)I-dle have left an indelible mark on the industry, while CLC had excellent songs but was handicapped from larger success by Cube’s poor management. Lightsum falls a bit more on the CLC side of things at Cube, being full of talent and garnering passionate fans but not always seeming like a top priority for their company. Nonetheless, better days appear to be ahead for the group now, so it is worth a look back to see when it was that they first arrived on the scene. Here is the full answer to when Sangah, Chowon, Nayoung, Hina, Juhyeon, Yujeong, Huiyeon, and Jian made their debut as Lightsum at Cube.

Lightsum Debuted on June 10, 2021 with “Vanilla”

Lightsum made their debut on June 10, 2021 at 6:00 p.m. KST with the single “Vanilla,” and “Vanilla” received a physical release the following day on June 11, 2021. “Vanilla” was composed by Steven Lee, Caroline Gustavsson, and J. Littlewood, with lyrics by 조윤경 (Jo Yoonkyung), and Littlewood and Lee also arranged the song. It is basically an electro pop song, and its music video is full of bright and cutesy visuals.

Prior to debut, on April 23, 2021, the official positions of the original eight members of the group had been introduced for the first time. Chowon was main vocal, Jian was rapper and sub vocal, Nayoung was main vocal and lead dancer, Sangah was rapper and lead dancer, Yujeong was sub vocal, Hina was sub vocal, Huiyeon was sub vocal, and Juhyeon was main dancer and lead vocal. In the lead-up to debut, the group members did various teasers and introduced themselves in individual YouTube videos.

On the day of their debut, Lightsum held a media showcase, where they performed “Vanilla.” Besides then, the group performed “Vanilla” for the first time on the same day, June 10, 2021, at M Countdown. They would continue on to do two comebacks, Light a Wish and Into the Light, before Cube announced on October 25, 2022 that Huiyeon and Jian would no longer be in Lightsum. The group would promote as six members beginning with the Honey or Spice comeback.

In summary, Lightsum made their debut on June 10, 2021 with the single “Vanilla,” and the original eight-member lineup would remain until October 25, 2022, when Huiyeon and Jian left the group. For more about the group, check out how old the Lightsum members currently are and who their leader is. Or for more Cube groups, check out the story behind the debut of (G)I-dle.

Published by

John Friscia

John has been a dedicated K-pop enthusiast for more than 10 years, and he also has more than 10 years of professional experience in writing, editing, journalism, and fact-checking. Now John wants to share the love of K-pop with the world, by providing accurate and up-to-date information on idols and the industry that is much more trustworthy than what is found on unsourced wikis and profile pages.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Exit mobile version